It’s Saturday and this is the one day of the week these days that I am able to fit in some cooking and baking. For those of you neophytes who have not had the good fortune to have tried red velvet cake, here is the ultimate in red velvet cake heaven! My daughter, Tori, and my son’s fiancée, Megan, both love red velvet cake but they have both told me that since eating my red velvet cake, they won’t eat anyone else’s. So today I decided to compare my recipe with another recipe I found on another food blogger’s site –http://www.thatskinnychickcanbake.com, who is Liz Berg. Her cake looks delicious and her icing sounds heavenly – white chocolate cream cheese icing; I use plain old cream cheese icing on mine…so let’s see what happened in Sharon’s kitchen today.
Picture
Sharon's are the lighter ones. Liz's are the darker ones.
_I decided to make cupcakes for my comparison today, so I made my recipe first and after the cupcakes cooled completely, I frosted them with the cream cheese frosting I always use. Then I made Liz’s recipe. The first thing I noticed about Liz’s, as compared to mine, was that the batter was a lot wetter and soupier than mine. To make up for this extra wetness, Liz’s baked for about 40 minutes, while my cupcakes baked for about 20 minutes. I had my doubts at first, but hers did bake through and tested done just like mine. They also smelled fabulous while baking! After the cupcakes cooled, I frosted them with the heavenly sounding white chocolate cream cheese frosting from her recipe.

Then the taste test began – don’t you know this was the best part??? I think we all had a religious experience while tasting these two delectable recipes! I only wish that Megan could have been here for the tasting as well…next time, Meggie!
Picture
Almost ready for the taste test!
_Now on to the results – after baking, cooling, and frosting both batches of red velvet cupcakes and then tasting them, Tori and Randy preferred my recipe over Liz’s. That being said, however, they loved Liz’s white chocolate cream cheese icing. Her red velvet recipe is a lot more chocolatey than mine…you can see this in the color of the finished cupcakes. They were delicious, but the preference here at my house were the ones I’ve been making for years. I will say that no one was opposed to me trying a new recipe…bring it on, they said!

So, for now, I will stick to my tried and true red velvet cake/cupcake recipe, but on occasion I may take it up a notch with Liz’s scrumptious white chocolate cream cheese frosting. Yum…we can hardly wait until the next batch is baked! Till next time…bon appetite!



Leave a Reply.